Courses and Events Calendar

Course start dates are highlighted in bold below

To reserve your time slot for Yoga, Pilates and Musical Monkeys classes, please go to Reservations.

 

Childbirth Preparation course

Four-session antenatal course skilfully designed to provide you with comprehensive information and preparation before the birth of your baby. Our experienced midwives/childbirth educators will provide you with up-to-date information that you need to feel comfortable and confident in your birth process. You should feel able to make informed choices about the kind of birth experience you want. Gain confidence and knowledge to ask questions of your doctor. Meet other expectant parents, make friends in our social group class setting and broaden your support group.

  • Sat, August 3, 10, 17 & 24, 2019 from 1.00pm – 3.30pm (Due in Sept/Oct)

  • Mon, August 19, 26, September 2 & 9, 2019 from 6.30pm – 9.00pm (Due in Oct)

  • Sat, August 31, September 7, 14 & 21, 2019 from 1.00pm – 3.30pm (Due in Oct/Nov)   

  • Mon, September 16, 23, 30 & October 7 2019 from 6.30pm – 9.00pm (Due in Nov)

  • Sat, September 28, October 5, 12 & 19 2019 from 1.00pm – 3.30pm (Due in Nov/Dec)

  • Mon, October 14, 21, November 4 & 11 2019 from 6.30pm - 9.30pm (Due in Dec)

  • Sat, October 26, November 2, 9 & 16 2019 from 1.00pm – 3.30pm (Due in Dec/Jan)

  • Mon, November 18, 25, December 2 & 9 2019 from 6.30pm – 9.00pm (Due in Jan)

  • Sat, November 23, 30 & December 7 & 14 2019 from 1.00pm – 3.30pm (Due in Jan)

F10.jpg
 
shutterstock_776622820.jpg

HypnoBirthing® course

Five-sessions focusing on Hypnobirthing techniques for a calm birth plus a package of complimentary services including a care of the newborn baby session.

HypnoBirthing® is as much a philosophy of birth as it is a technique for achieving a satisfying, relaxing and stress-free method of birthing. HypnoBirthing® teaches you, along with your birthing companion, the art and joy of experiencing birth in a more comfortable and confident manner. You approach birth and parenting informed and empowered.

  • Thu, September 5, 12, 19, 26 & October 3, 2019 from 7.00pm – 9.30pm (Due in late Oct/Nov)

  • Thu, October 10, 17, 24, 31 & November 7, 2019 from 7.00pm – 9.30pm (Due in late Nov/Dec)

 
F16.jpg

Intensive Childbirth Preparation course

One-day intensive antenatal course. This intensive and interactive course is skilfully designed to provide busy couples with comprehensive information and preparation before the birth of your baby. It will provide you with up-to-date information that you need to feel comfortable and confident in your birth process. You should feel able to make informed choices about the kind of birth experience you want. Gain confidence and knowledge to ask questions of your doctor.

  • Sun, August 18, 2019 from 10.00am – 5.00pm (Due in Sept)

  • Sun, September 15, 2019 from 10.00am – 5.00pm (Due in Oct)

  • Sun, October 13, 2019 from 10.00am – 5.00pm (Due in Nov)

  • Sun, November 10, 2019 from 10.00am – 5.00pm (Due in Dec)

  • Sun, December 8, 2019 from 10.00am – 5.00pm (Due in Jan)

 
shutterstock_405029551.jpg

Active Birth class

Two-hour prenatal course. Active Birth class is an additional class that is offered at Mother and Child. This session helps women prepare themselves and their body for labour during pregnancy. There is emphasis on breathing techniques and positioning of the baby which can be used as you progress from early labour through 1st and 2nd stages.

  • Tue, August 6, 2019 from 7.00pm - 9.00pm (FULL)

  • Tue, August 13, 2019 from 7.00pm – 9.00pm (FULL)

  • Tue, September 17, 2019 from 7.00pm – 9.00pm

  • Tue, October 15, 2019 from 7.00pm – 9.00pm

  • Tue, November 12, 2019 from 7.00pm – 9.00pm

  • Tue, December 17, 2019 from 7.00pm – 9.00pm

 
shutterstock_577533808.jpg

New Mothers Get Together course

Four-session postnatal course. In addition to having a wonderful time, being a new mother can be a daunting experience. Mother & Child offers the course for new mothers with babies from about 4 weeks to 3 months. The Get Together is facilitated by an experienced Midwife or Maternal & Child health nurse. The course provides a host of information along with a social support network of new mothers in the same situation.

  • Thu, August 8, 15, 22 & 29 , 2019 from 2.00pm – 4.00pm (FULL)

  • Thu, September 5, 12, 19 & 26, 2019 from 2.00pm – 4.00pm

  • Thu, October 3, 10, 17 & 24, 2019 from 2.00pm – 4.00pm

  • Thu, October 31, November 7, 14 & 21, 2019 from 2.00pm - 4.00pm

  • Thu, November 28, December 5, 12 & 19, 2019 from 2.00pm - 4.00pm

 
shutterstock_308793989.jpg

Introduction to Solids class

Two-hour postnatal course. The Introduction to solids class is structured for six month old babies. Taught by an experienced Midwife or Maternal & Child health nurse, it is an essential course that should be taken before weaning your child onto solid food. Introducing solids can be a challenge. This class gives you the confidence to have a smooth transition for your baby.

  • Wed, August 21, 2019 from 1.00pm - 3.00pm

  • Wed, September 11, 2019 from 1.30pm - 3.30pm

 
shutterstock_1122478133.jpg

Twins Group

Two-hour postnatal session. The Twins Group is a social get-together and learning session to share experiences that only twin parents can share together. We share information on growth, developmental milestones and diet/milk intake. Take the opportunity to meet other parents with Twins!

Please contact us for the start date of the next session

 
shutterstock_663728050.jpg

Well Baby Drop-in

Approximately 15 to 20 min per client. 12.30pm is the last walk-in time.

Our Well Baby drop-in is an essential service to every new family, especially in the early weeks when it can be overwhelming. In addition to weighing and measuring your baby to track growth and progress, our Health professionals provide essential feedback, assistance and advice on feeding and caring for your new born or infant. Maternal concerns and well being will also be addressed.

  • Wed, August 7, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Wed, August 14, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Mon, August 19, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Wed, August 21, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Mon, August 26, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Wed, August 28, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Mon, September 2, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Wed, September 4, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Sat, September 7, 2019 from 11.00am – 1.00pm

  • Mon, September 9, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Wed, September 11, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Mon, September 16, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Wed, September 18, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Mon, September 23, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Wed, September 25, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

  • Mon, September 30, 2019 from 9.30am – 1.00pm

 
shutterstock_1019870113.jpg

Mums & Babies Massage course

Three sessions of one hour each.

Infant massage at Mother and Child is tailored especially for babies from 1 to 12 months old. Infant massage stimulates healthy growth stages and brain development while also promoting regular sleep patterns and providing a wonderful opportunity to bond with your baby.

  • Tue, August 13, 20 & 2, 2019 from 3.30pm – 4.30pm

  • Tue, September 10, 17 & 24, 2019 from 3.30pm - 4.30pm

  • Tue, October 8, 15 & 22, 2019 from 3.30pm - 4.30pm

 
shutterstock_511881790.jpg

Dads & Babies Massage course

Three sessions of one hour each.

Infant massage at Mother and Child is tailored especially for babies from 1 to 12 months old. Infant massage stimulates healthy growth stages and brain development while also promoting regular sleep patterns and providing a wonderful opportunity to bond with your baby.

  • Sat, August 17, 24 & 31, 2019 from 11.00am – 12.00pm

  • Sat, September 14, 21 & 28, 2019 from 11.00am - 12.00pm

  • Sat, October 12, 19 & 26, 2019 from 11.00am - 12.00pm

  • Sat, November 2, 9 & 23, 2019 from 11.00am - 12.00pm

 

Meet-up Mondays (COMPLIMENTARY)

Two-hour gathering for new mothers and pregnant mothers-to-be. Please come along to our free drop-in gathering at Mother and Child. It’s a wonderful opportunity to meet other expectant couples & new parents. Make friendships and be supported. We look forward to seeing you at the session at our wonderful hub designed for your comfort.

  • Mon, August 5, 2019 from 2.00pm – 4.00pm

  • Mon, August 19, 2019 from 2.00pm – 4.00pm

  • Mon, August 26, 2019 from 2.00pm – 4.00pm

  • Mon, September 2, 2019 from 2.00pm – 4.00pm

  • Mon, September 9, 2019 from 2.00pm – 4.00pm

  • Mon, September 16, 2019 from 2.00pm – 4.00pm

  • Mon, September 23, 2019 from 2.00pm – 4.00pm

  • Mon, September 30, 2019 from 2.00pm – 4.00pm

shutterstock_577533808.jpg
 

First Aid for Helpers course

Six-hours over two-sessions.

This Helpers course focuses on the essentials of CPR, First Aid and Emergency Procedures. It is designed for your Helpers who are looking after babies and young children.

This popular course is informative and pertinent. It is conducted over two sessions and at a pace so that your helper can understand and remember what to do when they need it. We truly hope that your Helper will never have to use the information that they learn but believe strongly that every person should try to acquire these life saving skills.

  • Tue, August 13 & Fri, August 16, 2019 from 9.30am – 12.30pm (FULL)

  • Tue, September 3 & Fri, September 6, 2019 from 9.30am – 12.30pm

  • Tue, October 8 & Fri, October 11, 2019 from 9.30am - 12.30pm

  • Tue, November 5 & Fri, November 8, 2019 from 9.30am -12.30pm

First Aid for Couples course

Three-hours in one session.

This first aid course focuses on the essentials of CPR, First Aid and Emergency Procedures. It is designed for Parents with babies & young children and Expectant couples in their third trimester.

This popular course is informative and pertinent so that you can remember what to do when you need it. We truly hope that you never have to use the information that you learn but believe strongly that every person should try to acquire these life saving skills.

  • Sat, August 3, 2019 from 9.30am - 12.30pm (FULL)

  • Sat, August 17, 2019 from 9.30am - 12.30pm (FULL)

  • Sat, September 7, 2019 from 9.30am - 12.30pm

  • Sat, September 21, 2019 from 9.30am - 12.30pm

  • Sat, October 5, 2019 from 9.30am - 12.30pm

  • Sat, November 23, 2019 from 9.30am - 12.30pm

 

To reserve your time slot for Yoga, Pilates and Musical Monkeys classes, please go to Reservations.

~ Calendar effective 1 August 2019 ~